Write That in Your Marriage Notebook

May 25, 2011 at 7:33 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I have lost track of my village husbands. There is the old family chief that always has his wives bring me dolo. There is the guy that grills sheep internal organs on an old metal door. There is my tantie’s uncle. To all my husbands I have forgotten, my apologies.

The most elaborate of these is within the family to which I adopted myself. I guess I have never really explained my family so I’ll start there.

The chief of my family is a very old man who has been sick lately. He can’t walk and his voice is weak so he discipines kids by giving them the stink eye. He had three wives, the oldest of which has passed on and whose grown children have moved out of village with their own families. The second, Pognini, is fiesty and plays charades with me a lot. I think she has four children. The oldest girl married a man from a village 6 k away from here and bikes in evey weekend for church. The next two live in Ouaga. Her son is finishing secondary school in Koudougou. He third wife Nomam, has two sons who have moved away, a daughter ( it was her engagement ceremony I was at back in October), and two young sons in elementary school. Then there are the grandkids that float through for a week or two at a time, the orphan nephew, and three random kids that I have never really been explained who they are. Whew. Needless to say, it’s a busy place, their courtyard.

Pognini’s 19 year old son came to visit on break from school and jokingly his mother started saying we would get married. And another teacher says she is already his wife I will be the second.

But I can’t marry in without approval and I won’t get approval if I keep making my tô like I do. They (being everybody who is not me) think I need to learn and learn quickly. So I have been requested to keep a notebook on the things I have learned and those things that will come. So what is important??

Make tô
Pound dried gumbo
Lead the donkey as the husband guiedes the plow
Be a good host
Cook four kg of grain a day
Sweep anything that is flat
Carry 35 kg on their head
Put babies on their backs

Cheers!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

