Burkinabe Birthday

March 6, 2011 at 8:29 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I spent my first birthday here in Burkina.  Thankfully, a little Betty Crocker cake mix goes a long way.  I made about 6 shallow cake pans (baked in my metal serving plates) in my dutch oven.  I opened my couple care package gifts (birds of Detroit book sweet!)  and frosted the cakes.  Usually, if I bake or cook something american the people in my village tend to not like it.  But thankfully, the cake was a hit.  Which is good because it would have been too precious to waste on not liking

 

I had my birthday on a Saturday this year.  Saturdays are one of my favorite days because people just hang out together.  It was pretty chill.  I saw my first white crested helmet shrike!  I have been looking for that for a while.  So that was neat.

 

Cheers!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

